top of page
Search

Time to learn and time to do


Forgive me readers, for I have sinned. it has been 3 weeks since my last blog post. Please forgive me for neglecting you because I had a good reason.

I spent the time I dedicate for game design on getting my solo PNP game online. You can check it out in HERE. If you are interested in printing the game (6 sheets of A4) make sure you get both card files (front and back), rules overview and also check out the video in the video section for visual help. I've also been developing / co-designing 3 games, that I will talk about the moment it is possible.

This is my video setup I used for making the short "how to play" video. For now HD video on my smartphone will have to do.

Now that my PNP is online I have the time to write to you again!

During this time I had several ideas for cool mechanisms that are what is called "core mechanisms". Let's dwell on that for a moment. I don't know how it works for others, but when I have a nice core mechanism in mind, I get excited. Then the overwhelming feeling of now-I-have-to-dress-it-up-with-an-actual-game hits me. There should be a word for that feeling. The excitement is placed aside to be picked up again when the game is ready for testing.

I will take some of my favorite games as examples. I deliberately chose a few that have a very clear core that the rest of the game is built around for this. But keep in mind, not all games work like that. Mombasa

You play your cards in 3-5 positions and then they are moved to corresponding piles to be picked up in later turns. The cards have several actions you can take (I want to say 6 types of actions...) some will improve let you get more cards and some will help you interact with the board. So pure, so simple, but the game around it will make your brain gears work if you want to win. Note: This is complimented by a bit of worker placement.

On your turn you wither place workers or pick workers up to get their benefits. The longer a worker stays on the board, the better the benefits it will give you. This core mechanism is so good, that if you look at the rest of the game you will see it's not a lot more than your average resource management, and it is an amazing game.

In each round you have 6 bids on 6 types of actions using 6 types of icons on cards. Add a simple and quick drafting mechanism and you are good to go. Works well in 3-5 and at 2 with a bot. Area control that does not include any take-that and plays as smooth as silk.

Some very heavy games like Terra Mystica for examples, don't have a very defined core. Sometimes that's what makes a game heavy (not always of course). Nippon and Twilight Struggle are two heavy games with a very defined core mechanism.

Just like in yoga, you have to find you core. A strong core makes a strong body... hmmm... game!

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page