top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePini Shekhter

A decision with a meaning!


Of meaningful decisions and why we need them.

For me a game is not a game unless you have to make meaningful decisions. I have encountered games that last for way longer than they should while the amount of say you have on how the game will move along is practically zero. The game plays you. Euro style games are mostly packed with such decisions, but I think that even a small card game like Biblios delivers a bunch of tiny decisions with a punch. I think that even games that revolve around some push-your-luck element do that well.

In a good game you need to feel that: What you do matter / your moves change the course of the game / your moves affect others around the table.

Some mechanism include a meaningful decision in them as a part of what they basically are:

Push you luck:

Do I re-roll that die? Do I take another card??? HIT ME!

Then the designer has to make sure that the outcome of pushing you luck can be rewarding or disastrous.

Bidding:

I increase your offer by 2 bananas and a shotgun bullet (not sure where that works, maybe we need a tropical western themed game to make this one work).

Drafting:

What you choose now is what you'll use later. Did you take the wrong card? You'll feel it during the game.

And more...

Give the people that play your games the right to affect the game. They need decisions that range from what move to make first, up to do-or-die actions that seal the deal on a game's outcome. Add any amount of luck you see fit, but let the gamers choose how they like their plunge.

Depicted here is a little girl asking the world to create games that will engage her.

Sorry but I have to rant a bit under the picture, I don't intend to be mean or anything like it:

One of the most horrible game experiences I had regarding this matter was playing Cosmic Encounter. The game decides for every player who they attack and practically forces a move on you. Your choice is how strong your attack is and other players may join the attack/defense. There's an added layer of card play that I found boring. The game is packed with theme and is visually extremely appealing. I didn't feel like my decisions matter at all. I won on a 2 player win at a 7 players game and it didn't feel like I won, but rather that the game won for me.

No idea how this game is rated the way it is on BGG when it has a level of decision that is a smidge over that of Monopoly. Take that wonderful universe and use it for making new games.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page